Technical Issues

0

Posted by Shannon | Posted in | Posted on Monday, December 20, 2010

Sorry folks. Looks like our technical issues keep coming. Looks like no show tonight. The new LED light appear to be faulty and what is supposed to be a sealed system isn't, which is causing shorts, tripping our GFCI.

So disappointing. These new shiny lights were supposed to be a step forward for us, but looks like many steps back, right back to before we animated the lights.

:(

Christmas and traditions

0

Posted by Shannon | Posted in | Posted on Wednesday, December 15, 2010

I've been pondering family traditions lately and putting up the Christmas Tree is always a treat. Opening the boxes of ornaments is like seeing many old friends from years past that you've forgotten. Each time we go on a trip I seek out ornaments for the tree that would remind my of that trip.

This year I'm looking to mark the year I finally learned to ride a bike with a special ornament for the tree and I'm not exactly seeing what I want. My thought is to obtain a sprocket from the rear cassette from Trek. My first bike was a 2010 Trek Pure Sport and while it wouldn't be from MY bike, it would mean much more then just some generic bike ornament. It won't be flashy, but neither is my bike, and I could even have it engraved with the year and some info about my experience.

Before this year began I never would have thought I would actually learn to ride at the age of thirty-five and progressed as far as I have in only the few short months that I've been riding. From those first timid pedal strokes to biking for lunch thirteen miles away, 2010 has been monumental, and this is the best way that I can mark that in my little box of memories.

I'm not really sure what avenue would be best to contact Trek, I'm hoping someone from Trek reads this and can contact me, because it wouldn't really be the same thing if I bought an  identical Shimano cassette. I'm hoping to get something from Trek directly.

Any ideas??

Shannon

Prove him WRONG.. please

0

Posted by Shannon | Posted in | Posted on Friday, December 10, 2010

Friend: This could be you!
http://news.cincinnati.com/article/20101210/NEWS01/12110313/Christmas-lights-flash-for-a-cause

Husband: Wouldn't want to be.

Friend: Why not?  In the news.  Raising money for charity.  Sounds like a good kid doing a good thing and doing it well.

Husband: Which is fine. Don't want media and large crowds.

Me: But think of all the strange children that would be walking all over your yard as their parents neglected them as they secretly want them electrocuted in your lights.Wouldn't that be FUN?


Soooooo, my husband spends hours programming and putting up Christmas lights and doesn't want to be known as "Mr Christmas" or deal with crowds of people, but does enjoys it when people comment or complement him, so he just get in the Christmas mood and has been pretty down since we've had so many problems with the lights.

Come one.. Come all. Lets prove him wrong and show him that people DO really, really appreciate his lights!

Remember tonight is the first show of the season. Runs each night through the New Years Eve.

Shannon

We are a go!!!

0

Posted by Shannon | Posted in | Posted on Thursday, December 09, 2010

It looks like we are finally a GO for tomorrow night. We have our light issues resolved and as they say.. on with the show.

6PM to 11PM Friday and Saturday. Sunday - Thursday 6PM to 10PM.

Listen to 90.5 FM to listen to the lights!!

Thanks,

Shannon

Ov-er-load, Ov-er-load, Ov-er-load all the way...

0

Posted by Shannon | Posted in | Posted on Wednesday, December 08, 2010

Still having power issues and tripping our GFCI.

Twelve-Hundred watts of red and green flood-light will do that I guess? Means no show tonight and likely none tomorrow either. Friday is looking more likely and MUCH later in the season then we wanted to be in launching our first animated light show of the year, but all good things, right?

I heard on the radio we much get snow this weekend.

I'll post when we're ready to go!!
Shannon

Why Christmas Light.. WHY do you hate me?

1

Posted by Shannon | Posted in | Posted on Tuesday, December 07, 2010

OK. So here we are last night trying to get the last few frozen cords ran last night after work, in the dark and bitter cold that cuts you like a hot knife through butter. Actually a hot knife would have been almost preferable to the 17 degrees that feels like 5 degrees, complements of the12mph wind. We get to what I think is the last connection and we're almost done, plug it in and the whole thing goes dark, all 10k lights.

Oh, that can't be good.

It was at that point we realized we tripped a GFCI, so it was our que to go in and get a hot meal and live to battle another day. Round two tonight!!


Now I know why people leave the lights up all year!!

Shannon

Sorry for the delay...

0

Posted by Shannon | Posted in | Posted on Monday, December 06, 2010


So sorry if anyone came out over the weekend to discover out lights were just not synced up to the music and doing their thing. We finally got the last of the lights put up on the garage and the last technical issues worked out. We found that some of our floodlights are blown and the box of spares is nowhere to be found!! I'm hoping Home Depot has still has red and green floodlights!! Barring any additional little glitches we're hoping to have everything wired and functional for tonight or tomorrow.

If the cold isn't enough to make it feel like Christmas, then a little music and lights are bound to do the trick, just bring some hot coco and enjoy the show.

Shannon